Back to comparison

Harrow School · 2023

A-level results · 2023 · A level · A*–E

Check what this figure counts, where it was published and any limits on comparing it with another result.

Publications conflict for at least one field. A check of another field does not resolve that disagreement.

Report a problem with this figure

Opens an email to corrections@theschoolsrecord.co.uk with this record filled in, or prepare a fuller report.

What does this figure tell me?

share of published A level entries at each cumulative band; descriptive bands kept as printed; 2020 CAG and 2021 TAG labelled

Type of result: Examination results.

The reported values

Values keep the precision of the source. “Not recorded” does not mean zero. One pupil may have several subject entries or university offers.

% A* · %
almost a third
% A*–A · %
over two-thirds
Qualification
A level
Note
descriptive or lower-bound figures are recorded as the school printed them and are not charted · School text says 'almost a third of boys achieved A*s' (sic; newsletter same wording) - recorded as printed; the A*-A figure is explicitly 'of grades'. 21 boys (13%) with 3+ A*; 85 boys (52.8%) with 3+ A*-A; 2 boys with 5+ A*; 11 with 4+ A*. 'the strongest value-added results for the boys in a decade'.
Published wording
At A-level, almost a third of boys achieved A*s. Bar the pandemic years, the A*-A and A*-B rate is the highest since 2013. Over two-thirds of grades were either A*s or As. ... Two boys achieved five or more A* grades, with eleven boys gaining four or more A*s. Twenty-one (13%) gained three or more A*s and eighty-five boys (52.8%) gained three or more A*-A grades.
Pupils with ≥3 A*s
21
Grade scale
A*–E
Year
2023
Publication note

Primary

Back to this school’s records · Link to this source record

Published sources differ on A*. Read the source notes before using that figure.

Ranges and figures such as “over 90%” are retained as reported and are not exact chart values.

Published difference · % A*: The 2023 text says almost a third of boys achieved A*s; it does not state an A* share of subject grades. Preserve the literal pupil statement; do not map it to a grade-entry percentage. Inspect the publication

Where was this published?

Source denominator conflict / definition unresolved

% A* · 2023. Value: almost a third.

Exam results and university destinations | News/Event Article · Dated news; named qualification/outcome paragraph

Checked 2026-09-06. The 2023 text says almost a third of boys achieved A*s; it does not state an A* share of subject grades. Preserve the literal pupil statement; do not map it to a grade-entry percentage.

Checked against the original publication

% A*–A · 2023. Value: over two-thirds.

Exam results and university destinations | News/Event Article · Dated news; named qualification/outcome paragraph

Checked 2026-09-06. Descriptive bounds remain descriptive. Pupil counts are separate from grade-entry shares. This check does not verify other bands or supply a pupil denominator.

Checked against the original publication

Pupils with ≥3 A*s · 2023. Value: 21.

Exam results and university destinations | News/Event Article · Dated news; named qualification/outcome paragraph

Checked 2026-09-06. Descriptive bounds remain descriptive. Pupil counts are separate from grade-entry shares. This check does not verify other bands or supply a pupil denominator.

Can I compare this figure?

% A* · source disagreement; bounds/estimates not eligible

Reported value: almost a third. As published; not an exact number. Unit: percent.

Group counted: A-level subject entries. Recorded total for this measure: Unknown / not recorded. Type of result: Grade awards. Grading system: A-level post-2010 A*–E.

A usable individual value still needs duplicate, publication-version and matched-year checks before it enters a comparison.

Original source code: P. Numerical classification: bounded or descriptive.

% A*–A · bounds/estimates not eligible

Reported value: over two-thirds. As published; not an exact number. Unit: percent.

Group counted: A-level subject entries. Recorded total for this measure: Unknown / not recorded. Type of result: Grade awards. Grading system: A-level post-2010 A*–E.

A usable individual value still needs duplicate, publication-version and matched-year checks before it enters a comparison.

Original source code: P. Numerical classification: bounded or descriptive.

Research context, reference history and record codes

These references may support other years or fields in the same dataset. They do not replace the observation-specific checks above.

  • EXT_HARROW_DC84425B · Harrow School · Exam results and university destinations · 2023-08-17 · public link not established · school news post; A level 2023; GCSE/IGCSE 2023; places 2023; itemised places 2023

Original record identifier: ext:harrow_alevel:7. Source codes are retained for reproducibility.

Evidence
P

Result period: 2023. A source-check date records when the publication was checked; it is not a new results year. Something wrong here? Report a problem with this figure.

Source evidenceOpen full record ↗